Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

AMD or Intel for my next PC?

This topic has a poll - login to enter
Mannesty
Posted 04/11/2009 - 07:20 Link
Whilst I'm an IT professional it's been a while since I was in the 'front line' as it were and I'm rather out of touch with modern PC technology as I tend to deal mostly with servers.

So what's flavour of the month at the moment, AMD or Intel CPU's, and which model/generation of CPU from those manufacturers?

Like most people I guess, I want speed, reliability, and compatibility with my most used applications. These include Adobe video and still processing products, MS Office (though I could easily use Open Office), Vuescan, and most of the usual free stuff like iTunes, Picasa etc.

For my business I buy off the shelf systems by Acer. What other recommendations do you have. After sales support in the event of hardware failure is key to me and I've never had a good experience where Dell are concerned.

Value for money is also important to me. I'm well aware that the latest and greatest of just about anything carries a price penalty.

My current systems all run Windows XP except one running Windows 7 which I have hooked up to my TV.

My feeling is that Windows 7 64 bit is the way to go, I never did like Vista.

Your thoughts would be welcome.
Peter E Smith - flickr Photostream
Edited by Mannesty: 04/11/2009 - 07:23
polchraine
Posted 04/11/2009 - 09:19 Link
Have a look at the Intel processors in the list ...

http://ark.intel.com/

The site also contains chipset and board data and benchmarks are at: http://www.intel.com/performance/index.htm
DoctorJeff
Posted 04/11/2009 - 10:25 Link
Wait and see.
What will you gain from a change to a faster processor? How much of your existing software will run on a 64-bit system? If you have to buy new, will the saving make a difference?

To a pro, doing a batch process on a whole lot of RAW files, this could really matter; to me, playing around with one shot, I have a lot of time to spare.