A question for K30 users

widezu69

Link Posted 29/03/2013 - 05:04
Hey peeps, it's been quite a while since I last posted in this forum. But recently a question has sprung my mind.

After a few very happy years with the Kx, it decided to die on me with a faulty mainboard; costly and time consuming to fix so I'm thinking of replacing it with the K30. I'm not a pro but rather a casual enthusiast so this seems an ideal camera.

I'm really intrigued with the twin dials on the K30. I understand that in TAV mode, one controls the shutter speed and one controls the aperture and the same goes with P mode (from what I have read).

Control over both aperture and shutter isn't really my shooting style. Ideally I would like one dial for the aperture and one for the ISO with the Green Button used to reset the ISO range. I would prefer to have the camera set the shutter speed by itself.

Now I know I could just choose AV mode and use the ISO button on the back but then one dial goes to waste so what I'm asking is, in AV mode or something similar, can I have manual aperture and ISO using the dials with auto shutter speed?

sbrads

Link Posted 29/03/2013 - 08:01
I don't think you can do what you want exactly, the closest I can find is AV mode. The back dial adjusts aperture, the front dial does ISO after you've pressed the ISO button. If you haven't pressed the ISO button, the front dial does nothing. The ISO is shown in the VF but it also turns the screen on temporarily to show just the ISO even if it's turned off. I would have liked this optional as I don't like the screen shining when I'm looking through the VF, but it goes off with a half-shutter press.

It's best to be in non-auto manual ISO mode for your purposes as in Auto ISO mode the front wheel will just adjust the low end of the ISO range, the back wheel the top end. The Auto ISO does work very well though and shouldn't be dismissed.
Last Edited by sbrads on 29/03/2013 - 08:05

nigelp

Link Posted 29/03/2013 - 08:50