2 movement images help choosing Please !

petekd

Link Posted 22/05/2007 - 21:39
Hi All

Here are two shots I took for my movement grading. It has been desperate and hard to say the least. I have two images but would like help with your points of view which one to send.

Image one is probably more unusual so Im not sure

Any advise welcome as Ive got 3 days to get it in

Cheers Pete

IMAGE 1

IMAGE 2

Wedding & Portrait photographer

golfdiesel

Link Posted 22/05/2007 - 21:48
Image one is nice, if the background was a little more "black" so that the light hitting the background wouldn't distract as much then it would be a really nice image.
But I have to add that I have no idea how to get the background darker without changing the lighting of the subject.
Camera:K20D|Ist*DS|Spotmatic II|MZ-10
Pentax Lenses: DA16-45|DA50-200|50A 1.7
Tamron Lenses: 28-200
Takumar Lenses: SMC 55 1.8
Sigma Lenses: EX DG 50-500 'Bigma'|EX 50mm Macro
Flashes: Metz 58 AF-1|Samsung SEF-36PZF|Pentax AF-220T

HowardJ

Link Posted 22/05/2007 - 21:57
I agree with golfdiesel. The first is the most interesting and unusual of the two. Also like golfdiesel I have no idea how to blacken the background. I'm sure there are PS experts on the forum who could tell you how to do it. (Had to choose my words carefully there )

Good luck with your grading. I assume you are doing a photographic course of some sort.

Howard
Cymru Am Byth

johnriley

Link Posted 22/05/2007 - 22:21
I would have preferred a side-on view and a symmetrical composition for No 1, with the movement from side to side. As it is I don't feel the movement aspect of the image commands enough of the total picture. "Movement" would not instantly hit me as a title for it.

No 2 is very nice though. The small area of movement grabs the attention immediately. The colour is also very satisfying. This is indeed "Movement."
Best regards, John

ChrisA

Link Posted 22/05/2007 - 22:22
I'm intrigued, especially by the first one.