Will AdobeRGB (1998) influence other software?

niklas

Link Posted 06/07/2009 - 14:00
I am new to Pentax, new to dSLR.
Purchased my K20D a month ago.
Learning curve is not steep but endless.

I want to see if I get a better working habbit with better results out of running AdobeRGB in the settings of the camera.

I suppose, when printing, the printer is meant to use the same colour profile?
In my Canon printer it's called AdobeRGB (199.

1st Question: Is AdobeRGB(199 the same profile as the K20D AdobeRGB?

In properties of desktop on my Samsung Syncmaster 957 CRT screen, I have an option of finding a AdobeRGB(199 colour profile as well.
However, in my ATI graphic card Catalyst Control Center there is no such option as to choose colour profile.

2nd Question: Will it be enough to go through properties of the desktop in WinXP for choosing AdobeRGB(199 colour profile?

When choosing AdobeRGB(199 colour profile, I see no change on the screen.

3rd Question: Will it be without troublemaking visible effect on other software appearance and printing, constantly running both screen and printer in AdobeRGB (199 colour profile?

I appreciate any response enlightening me on this subject.

Niklas
15mm - 450mm equivalent, and still can't reach...

niklas

Link Posted 06/07/2009 - 14:11
And may I please add:

4th Question: Will photos made with AdobeRGB colour profile on K20D, in any way, be unpleasant to view on other PC's running sRGB or WinXP automatic colour profile choise?

Niklas

johnriley

Link Posted 06/07/2009 - 14:32
Whatever colour space you use, stick to the same one all the way through.

Bear in mind that images for the web will need to be sRGB.

I use sRGB for all my applications, from the camera through to print and web. This gives brighter prints, admittedly with a reduced colour gamut compared to Adobe RGB, but it's never proved to be a problem.