Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

What to do...

paulcliff
Posted 01/03/2016 - 13:12 Link
Hi All,

I've never used an external flash before, ever, all I've ever used is the built in flash on my K-X, I've never like the results. Recently I purchased a Sigma 17-50 f2.8 with which I am expecting in the post soon a free Sigma EF-610 DG ST. I'm not really sure what to do with it, I watched a few videos explaining the different ways that external flashes can be used and I like the idea of trying out using the flash off camera and using a remote trigger (can use the pop-up flash?).

Reading up on the DG ST it seems it can ONLY be used when attached to the hot shoe, and can't be used off camera, is this right? To add to this, I've now purchased a K-3ii, which should be arrive in the post soon too, so no pop-up flash.

Reading reviews of the DG ST it seems that its main selling point seems to be it's power, but it's somewhat limited in other areas. So here's my thinking, do I sell the flash and put the money towards a different flash, or do I keep it and try it out, or will I simply use it for a while and be frustrated at it's limitations.

As I said, this is all new to me, I don't have a studio or anything to do portraits, but it's definitely an area that I'd like to explore, especially now I have young children and nieces/nephews, the family are always asking if I could 'take some nice photos of them'.

Cheers for any advice

Paul.
stu62
Posted 01/03/2016 - 14:07 Link
Look for a member called Nigel megrege don't take no notice of anyone else when it comes to flash photography he is the one
McGregNi
Posted 01/03/2016 - 14:16 Link
Stu you are a real comedian, thanks for the great intro act !. You can be my new agent

There's definitely other people to take notice of, certainly not just me. There will be a range of good options and different good ideas from members here with all sorts of experience.