What do you set in the "User mode"

MarkTaylor
Posted 21/05/2011 - 08:05 Link
Anvh wrote:
MarkTaylor wrote:
Gwyn wrote:
[quote:3496ace15f="johnriley"]As regards SR, when on a tripod I use the 2 second timer, so the SR is switched off and the mirror locked up anyway. It also prevents any camera shake form operating the shutter release.
Me too, or I use the remote, which also switches SR off.

I haven't used any of the user modes on mine .
I assume it is a wireless remote? I use a (cheap, third party) wired remote, which as far as I know does not automatically turn of SR. The manual refers to it by the slightly old-fashioned term 'cable release' but has almost nothing to actually say about it so it's hard to be certain. In any case, it does the job.
But then like is said the camera is on a tripod and if you use the 2second timer it will also shut down the SR automaticly.[/quote]But then I would probably forget to turn it off when not using the timer for the reasons stated above.
My Flickr • Pentax K-5 • K-5 II • Sigma 8-16mm F/4.5-5.6 DC HSM • Tamron SP AF 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD ASL • SMC Pentax-DA* 50-135mm F/2.8 ED [IF] SDM • SMC Pentax-DA 55-300mm F/4-5.8 ED • SMC Pentax-DA 18-135mm F/3.5-5.6 ED AL [IF] WR • Vivitar 100mm F/3.5 Macro AF • Metz Mecablitz 58 AF-2
Edited by MarkTaylor: 21/05/2011 - 08:07
thoughton
Posted 21/05/2011 - 11:59 Link
karma mechanic wrote:
However, if you switch the camera from USER mode to AV mode (or indeed any other mode) it automatically uses the settings from the User mode number that was last set, not the one last used.

Even if the camera was in User2 (DNG files etc) it will still switch to 2M JPEG files if you switch away from USER mode. The last settings saved become the system defaults.
I was playing around with this last night, and this isn't quite what happens on mine. At first glance it does appear the way you've described it, e.g. I was in Tv, set everything up how I wanted, saved it as User3, then changed modes to User3 to check it was working. Then when I switched back to Av it kept all the User3 settings.

BUT if after setting User3 you then switch back to Av or Tv etc mode, then change the settings back to your normal ones (back to RAW, in your case), the next time you switch to User3 and then back to AV it won't retain the User3 settings back in AV mode.
Tim
AF - Pentax K5, Sigma 10-20/4-5.6, Tamron 17-50/2.8, Sigma 30/1.4, Sigma 70-200/2.8, Tamron 70-300/4-5.6
MF - Vivitar CF 28/2.8, Tamron AD2 90/2.5, MTO 1000/11
Stuff - Metz 58 AF1, Cactus v4, Nikon SB24, Raynox 150, Sigma 1.4x TC, Sigma 2x TC, Kenko 2x macro TC, Redsnapper 283 tripod, iMac 27”, Macbook Pro 17”, iPad, iPhone 3G
Flickr • Fluidr • PPG • Street • Portfolio site
Feel free to edit any of my posted photos! If I post a photo for critique, I want brutal honesty. If you don't like it, please say so and tell me why!
karma mechanic
Posted 21/05/2011 - 12:49 Link
thoughton wrote:


BUT if after setting User3 you then switch back to Av or Tv etc mode, then change the settings back to your normal ones (back to RAW, in your case), the next time you switch to User3 and then back to AV it won't retain the User3 settings back in AV mode.
Yes, it retains the last ones set. User mode is a red herring, and that's what confused me. Setting it to 2 meg JPEG for example (in order to save that in a User mode) is what is retained, so coming out of User mode it just uses whatever was set previously - in this case 2 meg JPEG. I guess I had associated the changing of settings with the idea of saving them as a User mode, without realising that settings are remembered anyway.

It was the manually putting the settings back to my normal ones that was the missing step...
My own website is www.richardgaddphotography.com

Also on 500px

Add Comment

To leave a comment - Log in to Pentax User or create a new account.



Proudly supporting Pentax User

Samsung Logo Asahi Pentax Logo