Weekly Competition No 23 : Light

McBrian

Link Posted 17/12/2007 - 07:14
Hi All

Thanks for all your entries, will get cracking on the judging, back with the results this evening
Cheers
Brian.
LBA is good for you, a Lens a day helps you work, rest and play.

McBrian

Link Posted 17/12/2007 - 20:04
Please remind me not to win this again, must be one of the hardest things I've ever had to do, remember I'm no expert at this.

AlfaFoxtrot: Very nice perspective of a lit Eiffel Tower, pushed a bit too far in processing for my liking although this may be due to the use of high iso in a small sensor camera.

Ammonyte: I like the setup; the contrasting primary colours work for me as does the rear lighting (?) which gives a nice halo effect. I had a hard job figuring out how many light sources were used (3?), these could have been better balanced in my view (double shadow), also looks a bit on the soft side.

Clarky: Nice use of the out of focus flower in the back ground to simulate a light source, I like how the stem takes you from one side to the other,, A bit of fill flash may have helped to bring out some more detail in the fly. I would have cropped a bit green off the top and left side to put the fly in the top left third.

Daniel Bridge: Super shot, great use of the theme in both contexts. perfect exposure, superb colours, love how the sky goes from deep to light blue at the horizon. If I have to nitpick, I would have got rid of the hills to give the subject a more ďfreeď look. Contender

Don: Nice side lighting and a good piece of light painting, Iíve tried to do this before, itís extremely hard to balance the static light and the light painting and get it all exposed correctly, the red and purple strokes along the bottom donít work for me.

Galoot: Good control of the reflected sunlight which produces a nice silhouette and reflection of the yacht, got a great feeling of loneliness, would love to see this as huge print.