Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

VAT question

whelmed
Posted 30/03/2010 - 14:54 Link
So first off, let me say I'm not trying to do anything illegal here - this is a genuine question regarding how these things work in the UK. So far all the lenses I have purchased have been done in the U.K. so I've not had to worry about this next question.

Alright, with that out of the way, I'm living in the UK but I'm a Canadian. I'm doing a PhD here, and as such I'm poor as piss and always looking for ways to save money. I see my family between 1-2 times a year, and prices for Pentax Lenses are, to put it mildly, slightly cheaper in Canada.

Now - how does that work for me? I'm allowed to bring things in here given the knowledge that they will leave with me and that I do not sell them. That is, if I purchased something in Canada and brought it here for my own personal use, should that mean that I'm exempt from paying import tax on it? So the next question is this ... if I purchased something from a dealer and had them ship it to me in the UK - would this same rule apply?
K-5; Siggy 10-20 f4, 30mm f1.4, 18-50mm f2.8, 70-200mm f2.8; Tammy 400mm f4, 500mm f8
johnriley
Posted 30/03/2010 - 15:05 Link
You'd be better off asking HMRC. They probebly have a helpline of personal importing, or something on their website.
Best regards, John
bforbes
Posted 30/03/2010 - 15:06 Link
I think you would end up paying vat and duty because of the UK delivery address. I don't think you would pay if you had it delivered in Canada and your family shipped it to you.
Gwyn
Posted 30/03/2010 - 15:17 Link
Even if your family send it you may end up paying. They have to fill in a customs declaration after all.

It could give problems should you need to make use of the guarantee - they could be seen as grey imports and the guarantee be annulled.
You can bring 390 pounds worth of goods into the country duty free from Canada.

http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/customs/arriving/arrivingnoneu.htm