Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

Unprocessed RAW v JPEG print test

Ashley
Posted 14/01/2009 - 17:40 Link
Last night I deecided to see what the difference is between an untouched raw and straight from camera jpeg photograph when printed out. I set my K10D to RAW+jpeg and photographed a book shelf with the camera on a tripod and using self timer.

I was always lead to believe at least in the magazine articles I saw on the subject some time ago that a raw image will look dull, flat and need some post processing before being useable.

The crops I printed out at 200% revealed the raw image to be the same in colour and contrast but sharper than the jpeg!

I opened the images in Photoshop Elements 6 and printed from there.

I've been using raw for a few months now but have never tried to print the unprocessed raw photo.

Has anyone else tried this?
shim
Posted 14/01/2009 - 17:53 Link
Interesting that the RAW was sharper. I'll have to have a look at some where I've got jpg and jpg+raw.

shim
iceblinker
Posted 14/01/2009 - 18:36 Link
There is no such thing as an unprocessed RAW image. There is just RAW data that a program has to process to make an image that you can see.

Different RAW converter programs have different default settings, and some will produce more acceptable results than others without any input from you. Of course it also very much depends on the qualities of the original photograph: how well exposed and sharp it was.

But no matter how good the photo, the final image will definitely look softer than a JPEG from the camera (with medium sharpness setting) if the program's sharpening settings are truly zero - but they won't be zero by default, and some programs may not even allow them to be really zero.

"Zero" doesn't mean that the image is softened, it just means no sharpening is applied. It is the norm for digital images to be sharpened - whether it's done by the RAW converter on your computer, or the JPEG engine in the camera.
~Pete