TAMRON SP 90MM MACRO F2.5

thegreenman

Link Posted 24/09/2012 - 12:14
Would anyone recommend this lens for macro work. I know it only goes 1:2 as standard, but will it go 1:1 ith ext tubes. I'm new to macro photography, but keen to give it a go over the winter.

I o have a 50mm 1.7 which I could use with tubes. Would this give better results?

regards

fritzthedog

Link Posted 24/09/2012 - 12:48
If you want to try "macro on the cheap" - why not try your 50mm with a reversing ring?

Personally - if I am buying a dedicated macro - I want 1:1, but there are other cheaper ways including tubes and reversing rings and many get good results with these.

You could also try a macro adapter such as the excellent Raynox DCR 250 which will cost you less than 50. These are by far the easiest of the alternatives as they just clip on to the front of any lens with a thread of up to 67mm and can produce great results

Carl
No matter how many lenses I have owned - I have always needed just one more

DrOrloff

Link Posted 24/09/2012 - 13:21
A reversed 50 will give great results in the right hands, well worth a try but it can be a bit of a faff. A dedicated macro lens is a useful thing. So yes, I would recommend the Tamron. There is a place for 1:2 macro work, particularly useful for larger subjects such as flowers, fungi, larger butterflies, etc. You can get 1:1 but I find the extension tube very awkward to fit so I have never really bothered with it. You could consider spending a little more than the later f2.8 1:1 version.

I like the colours the lens produces, it seems particularly suited to autumn's warm colours. It is very sharp.

You should be aware that the lens can produce a purple spot in certain conditions, I have seen it with my lens on occasion. See here.

SRS have one in mint condition with the adaptor for what looks like a reasonable price, you can get the postage free as a forum member. It hasn't got the extension tube but I'd happily sell you that.