Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

SDM in general

cbrog
Posted 21/02/2020 - 17:16 Link
Sometimes I wonder how Pentax managed to survive at all. I own four Star lenses - supposedly professional standard lenses and now only my 60-250 is working as it should. The sdm drive in the others either doesn't work or only works occasionally and one will not even manually focus within a certain focal lengths.
All these lenses are otherwise in mint condition. If I still worked as a photographer I simply would not (could not) tolerate that level of unreliability.
Edited by cbrog: 21/02/2020 - 17:17
JohnX
Posted 21/02/2020 - 17:36 Link
I still don't see why there hasn't been a class action against Pentax, over what is an inherent product fault
ronniemac
Posted 22/02/2020 - 13:52 Link
I'm really sorry to hear about your SDM * lenses, Cborg, you've been unlucky and are right to say that this is an issue that Pentax should have addressed a long time ago. Fortunately the new range of D-FA* SDM lenses have a completely different ring motor SDM mechanism which I understand if far stronger.

I have the 7 original SDM DA lenses and have been lucky - no failures to date. There is a debunked theory that if you keep the lenses on a charged camera and give them a spin every so often, that they will keep working. Like I say, it's a theory which has been refuted so take it with a pinch of salt.

B.t.w. I keep mine attached to some old K-01s, and give the focus motors a spin quite frequently, but I accept that this is nothing to do with the fact that they all work perfectly.
pschlute
Posted 22/02/2020 - 15:59 Link
I at one time owned three of the DA* lenses. 16-50; 60-250; and 300. The 16-50 was troublesome in that it needed me to manually focus a few times throughout the range, then AF throughout the range after which it behaved normally. The 60-250 and 300 both worked perfectly. I only own the 300 now and it is still going strong despite its age.