Portraits - on camera flash

paulcliff

Link Posted 12/05/2017 - 13:36
Hi All,

Took some photos of my son on his birthday last week, just looking for some feedback on them. this is my first time doing this so its all very new to me.

I used a Sigma EF610 DG ST which was on the camera, pointed behind me slightly up and to the left. As you can see this has resulted in a nice overall look to the face but there is a shadow visible behind and to the right of the head.

Is there anything I can do to mitigate this without buying another flash and a flash stand?

Also just after general comments on the composition etc.

Thanks!

f4 | 1/180s| 45mm | 100 ISO

f4 | 1/180s| 50mm | 100 ISO
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/gp/cliffo88/513746

pschlute

Link Posted 12/05/2017 - 14:18
I think they are both lovely portraits of your happy boy.

I think you have achieved a soft effect with the lighting by bouncing the flash. As far as the shadow to the right of the head and his left arm another flash off camera would fill that, but perhaps you could instead allow more ambient light from a window help to fill the shadow. Or use a reflector placed to the right of your boy to reflect back some flash or ambient light.

If I can be critical of the framing of the first one , I would say that the visible strip of wall above the sofa cushion is a bit distracting.
Peter

My Flickr page
Last Edited by pschlute on 12/05/2017 - 14:19

Helpful

paulcliff

Link Posted 12/05/2017 - 15:10
Thanks Peter, I'll try by a window next time.

And yes I agree about the wall above the sofa.

smudge

Link Posted 12/05/2017 - 15:19
Very nice relaxed expression on both shots, which is the most important thing.

With a single flash you could minimise the shadow by pointing the flash straight up to bounce off the ceiling but this would give less modelling to the face. A better solution would be to sit your son on a stool some distance from the background.
Regards, Philip

Helpful

Chrism8