Photos from Asia

milamber

Link Posted 30/12/2011 - 14:04
Finally managed to sort through my photos from my recent trip to Asia and thought I might post a few I liked best here.

This was my first proper trip with my K-r - I've used it a bit in and around my home since buying it to get used to it, but this is the first time I've used it extensively. It certainly takes some getting used to, but is capable of some lovely images when I manage to fluke the right combination of subject and settings.

I took the Pentax 18-250mm with me and my FA 50mm 1.7. In the end I didn't use the 50mm at all and the 18-250mm stayed on the camera the whole time. I had a few times when low light might have meant that the 50mm was the better choice, but the zoom was so versatile and the low light capabilities of the K-r so impressive, that it wasn't an issue.

I had plenty of failures as I'm still learning, but these are some of the ones I like best. It does show that in the right hands (not mine yet!) the 18-250mm is a stunning lens across the whole range if used correctly.

Most of the portraits were taken with permission, particularly of the children. I prefer to take pictures with the permission of the subject, but still haven't overcome the inherent reluctance to ask and miss out on a lot as a result.

Any comments, criticisms or helpful suggestions appreciated. Everything taken with aperture priority and hand held (except for the last one for which I used the beanbag.

F8, 1/13, ISO 200 @ 42mm - utterly wrong for a portrait in all respects. So desperate to take the picture after being told I could got everything wrong. Good job the K-r is so forgiving. Cropped to about 50% and then enlarged 4 times, but no enhancement

F6.3, 1/1000, ISO 200 @ 250mm - the young lady was part of a street carnival and I was some way back so needed the full 250mm. Amazed it came out as well as it did. Cropped to 40% and enlarged 4 times with some slight shadow enhancement.