New boy, old camera

AfcDav

Link Posted 26/02/2007 - 14:21
Hi everybody, just got myself a ME Super with smc f2 50mm, 40mm-80mm & a Sun 75-200mm zoom, wanted to learn the basics & hope this kit is the right way to go, before moving on to a DSLR, could anybody give me any info on camera,lens or tips,
Thanks Dave
AfcDav

Mannesty

Link Posted 26/02/2007 - 14:43
Wecome to the forum AfcDave,

You will find most of the technical info. you are ever likely to want to know about your Pentax branded kit at http://kmp.bdimitrov.de .

I have no personal experience of any of the equipment you mention but I used a Super-A, the successor to the ME Super having essentially the same body, for many years until it finally died. I used a Pentax-A 50mm 1:1.7 lens on it and was always pleased with the results. your 1:2 lens is a little less sharp and is not best suited to low light working but is nevertheless an excellent lens.

You will experience mixed emotions on here regarding digital only v digital + film capable lenses. Get to know the kit you have before embarking on any lens buying spree, stick to Pentax SMC lenses, and follow any or all advice you get from this forum. You'll not go far wrong.

As with any forum, ask questions and you'll get knowledgable and qualified answers and remember, there's no such thing as a daft question.
Peter E Smith

My flickr Photostream

AfcDav

Link Posted 26/02/2007 - 19:10
Thanks for your reply, had a canon eos 300 for few years but could never really get on with it, always wanted an ME Super & took the plunge a few weeks ago, thought it would help me improve my limited knowledge.
Dave
AfcDav

Kimbo

Link Posted 27/02/2007 - 04:18
It will certainly do that, modern AF cameras are so sophisticated and reliable under all but the most extreme conditions, that when set to auto they are essentially 'point and shoot'.

A manual focus camera with fairly basic metering will force you to slow down and think about each and every shot.