MZ6 and lenses

Tomas

Link Posted 23/06/2003 - 21:13
I’ve been using a P30 and P50 (with motor) for the past 17 years, but my P30 has now died and I want to replace it with another Pentax camera.

As I haven’t needed to buy a new camera for 17 years, and have photographed only in manual mode I am out of touch with what cameras are available now together with all their features.

I am considering buying an MZ6 with the 28-90mm/f3.5 lens but would like to know if is worth buying this package in preference to another, cheaper MZ body and lens?

A couple of Pentax buffs have suggested buying an LX (and motor) but apart from the cost it will also be too heavy to carry around both that and my P50 + motor.

These Pentax fans have also cautioned me about the new cameras and lenses being made of plastic compared to my equipment which is made of metal. Will a new MZ camera body be able to hold my old 28 – 80mm/f3.5 lens or will it be too heavy for the plastic bayonet?

I also have an old Vivitar 80-200mm/f4 lens which is incompatible with new cameras and I would need a similar new/used Pentax lens, but can anyone reccomend one?

I’ve seen different types of Pentax 80-200mm/f4 lenses with ”A Lens” or ”SMC” after them. What does this mean?

johnriley

Link Posted 24/06/2003 - 18:22
I have been using newer bodies alongside my MX and various ME derived cameras. The ones for me that stand out are the MZ5, MZ5n and MZ3. These retain proper shutter speed dials, metal mout and add a host of new features that can be used if desired. I suggest you handle these cameras at a dealer and see for yourself how well they can fit in with the lenses and handling that you are used to. Whilst buying the new body you might as well include a standard zoom for the minimal extra cost it will involve.

The LX is a superb but heavy professional body - make sure you get a little used amateur owned one!