Macro for Pentax K-X - recommendations...

Jaq1967

Link Posted 31/05/2010 - 13:44
Hi,

I'm new to this and am slowly learning photography. I bought the K-X twin lens kit as a good starting DSLR. I am looking for recommendations on additional bits and bobs to get me started. I am looking for value for money and probably good secondhand stuff compatible to get me started - until I feel comfortable and spend big bucks!

I am looking for a macro lens. I am also looking for a flash gun.

Any suggestions welcome on this subject.

Thanks...

Jaq1967

snappychappy

Link Posted 31/05/2010 - 13:57
Don't think you can go far wrong with the Tamron 70-300mm DI lens, had it for a while, it only goes to 2:1 ratio, half life size but its a quality item for the price.

Example.

My piccies.

matwhittington

Link Posted 31/05/2010 - 14:04
Hello Jacques. It depends to a great extent what your budget is I think. A quick look on ebay will reveal that there are hundreds of macro lenses for sale which will fit your k-x; so it comes down to what your requirements are in terms of focal length, auto or manual focus, etc. I suspect that if you buy a pentax lens in decent condition of any era it will give decent results - there are currently listings anywhere from ~25...

What focal length are you looking for? For small insects and things like that you may well be looking at a focal length of ~100mm...very popular amongst members here are the newer crop of macros in that region - the Tamron, Sigma and Pentax in the region 90mm-105mm. These will be more expensive and probably somewhere around 250-400, you can get older versions of them cheaper, and indeed can find almost anything between the 25-400 bracket.

Alternatively you could also look at extension tubes and/or lens reversing rings which will enable a macro capability with 'standard' lenses.