Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

Lost photos downloaded


Brian1

Link Posted 07/09/2010 - 17:16
I recently very stupidly wiped a whole load of shots from my computer after I had downloaded them from my Pentax K7 via a card reader and had gone through the formatting of the card in the camera.

I have a recovery programme on my computer which not only recovered the "lost" shots, but also those taken a year or so ago when I used the same card back then (I have quite a number of cards I swap around on a regular basis).

If I had already downloaded the shots from the card and then formatted the card in the camera how could a recovery rogramme recover such so-called erased shots ? Are they in fact in a separate section of the card "for ever" ?

Can anyone let me in on the secret ??

davex

Link Posted 07/09/2010 - 17:20
Normally files are not "deleted" on any media. When you "delete" the file you are simply telling the drive or card that it can overwrite that particular storage segment. If the segment is not overwritten the recovery software can still read the data. You was lucky.

Davex.
K5 + 8mm-500mm zooms and primes
Please feel free to play with any images I post.
My flickr: link

thoughton

Link Posted 07/09/2010 - 17:22
When a computer erases a hard disk or memory card it usually only erases the 'directory' which tells the computer where each file is located. Only a 'full format' (as opposed to a 'quick erase' or something similar) will wipe the data itself.

Your shots from a year ago were probably on a part of the card you haven't used since then. If you had completely filled up the card some time this past year then you wouldn't have been able to recover the year-old shots as the space they occupied would have been overwritten by newer images.
Tim
AF - Pentax K5, Sigma 10-20/4-5.6, Tamron 17-50/2.8, Sigma 30/1.4, Sigma 70-200/2.8, Tamron 70-300/4-5.6
MF - Vivitar CF 28/2.8, Tamron AD2 90/2.5, MTO 1000/11
Stuff - Metz 58 AF1, Cactus v4, Nikon SB24, Raynox 150, Sigma 1.4x TC, Sigma 2x TC, Kenko 2x macro TC, Redsnapper 283 tripod, iMac 27, Macbook Pro 17, iPad, iPhone 3G
Flickr Fluidr PPG Street Portfolio site
Feel free to edit any of my posted photos! If I post a photo for critique, I want brutal honesty. If you don't like it, please say so and tell me why!

davex

Link Posted 07/09/2010 - 17:30
Quote:
Only a 'full format' (as opposed to a 'quick erase' or something similar) will wipe the data itself

Not actually true Tim, a full format removes the directory entries and also scans for bad sectors, which are noted in the directory. The data is only erased when one deliberately writes other data into a particular sector, this is what "wiping" software does.

Davex.
K5 + 8mm-500mm zooms and primes
Please feel free to play with any images I post.
My flickr: link

davex

Link Posted 07/09/2010 - 17:33
If anyone is really interested this is a good explanation.

Davex.
K5 + 8mm-500mm zooms and primes
Please feel free to play with any images I post.
My flickr: link

Brian1

Link Posted 08/09/2010 - 10:09
davex wrote:
If anyone is really interested this is a good explanation.

Davex.

Very interesting. I now understand what happens.

Thank you one and all for the input. It is clear that if photos are accidentally wiped then recovery should be made before the card is used again, as the re-use will overwrite what was there before.


Add a Comment
You must be registered or logged-in to comment.