Looking for my first Pentax camera please help!

tee17

Link Posted 01/08/2016 - 06:32

Hello!

I have been taking photographs daily with different kinds of cameras for about a year now, usually use my phone or a compact camera. Did the job however now I am taking photography seriously and enjoying it and plan to go to uni , I am an older prospective student and would like some advice on DSLR cameras. My friend suggested to me to join this forum and to get a pentax ... There are lots of brands/models out there for DSLRs. I know different photographers have different specs to their process. At this stage I would like to buy pentax camera that has a reasonable amount of functions to give me a variety so that I can switch things up as when I need to. Good focus. Long distance. I am always confused about pixels , some people tell me that you only really need higher pixels for high resolution photos. Some swear that it makes the photos more crisper? anyways I have found a bunch of cameras, all pentax : P 6457, K-1, K-3, K-3 11, K-70 , K-52 to XG-1. They all range in pixels and quality and of course price. I dont mind paying a decent price as it will last through uni. Something that is a good between a beginners and a pro... dont want something to basic. I learn fast and can pick things up fairly easily. I have played around with friends in the past alittle. Would love to get one soon so any reviews on pentax cameras would be great! thanks
Last Edited by tee17 on 01/08/2016 - 06:42

Jonathan-Mac

Link Posted 01/08/2016 - 08:09
Hello and welcome to the forum. You've chosen a good place to start looking at DSLRs

Megapixels are certainly not the most important feature of a digital camera. These days I wouldn't worry about it at all as all digital SLR and mirrorless cameras have good resolution. There are far more important factors to take into account.