Linux distro for a total beginner?

jeallen01

Link Posted 13/05/2016 - 19:07
Evening

Yup, I'm finally going to have to install some form of Linux distro on one of my PC's - and then learn how to use it!

First problem is obviously which distro because I've seen suggestions for quite a few of them but don't really know which one to choose so that I don't get so bogged down pee'd off and disheartened that I give up in short order.

I know, at least I think, that a few forum members run some form of Linux, and so I'm asking for your advice as to your suggestions on which to consider and which to avoid?

Thanks in advance.

John
K-3 II, K-3 and a K-70 from SRS (having now relegated the K-30 with the Hacked K-50 f/w to being a backup body) , & some Sigma and Pentax lenses (and a lot of old 35mm gear!)

Hammerlee

Link Posted 13/05/2016 - 19:44
Linux mint is a good place to start, also Zorin is a distro which aims to make itself attractive to Windows migrants. I personally think that Debian and Ubuntu based distros are more suited to first time users. You can always run a distro as a live system before installing to see if you like the distro and also to see if the desktop environment suits you. It is also worth looking at reviews first to find out how easy the distro is to install, the ones I have suggested are quite straight forward, others will want you to partition the hard drive manually which can be daunting for a first timer. Distrowatch is a good place to find all the operating systems you could ever need.

Good luck,

Lee
Last Edited by Hammerlee on 13/05/2016 - 19:46

jeallen01

Link Posted 13/05/2016 - 20:20
Lee

Thanks for the suggestions - Mint is a distinct possibility as I have read that is pretty good, but I will take a good luck at the other two that you suggested.

John
K-3 II, K-3 and a K-70 from SRS (having now relegated the K-30 with the Hacked K-50 f/w to being a backup body) , & some Sigma and Pentax lenses (and a lot of old 35mm gear!)

MattMatic