Lightroom vs Photoshop

KatieW

Link Posted 15/10/2010 - 11:03
I'll apologise in advance if this topic has been done to death, but I'd be really grateful for some advice. I've just invested in Lightroom 3 and so I'm new to finding my way around it. Already I like it but I need to learn more. I recently went on a course where people were saying how great Lightroom is but that they also use Photoshop. Am I right in thinking Lightroom is limited in being able remove things you don't want in a picture (aside from cropping of course) or adding more depth to a sky for example and this is where you need Photoshop? If so, would Elements be sufficient?

Any advice that won't scare me technically would be most appreciated

Katie.
Regards
Katie

thoughton

Link Posted 15/10/2010 - 11:31
I use Lightroom 3, and the only time I ever need to go into Photoshop is for extensive cloning/healing work, and that's only because the cloning and healing tools in Photoshop are easier to use. You can do all the same stuff in Lightroom, it's just more of a hassle (as the Lightroom tool only does spots of various sizes, you can't 'brush' with it like you can in PS).
Tim
AF - Pentax K5, Sigma 10-20/4-5.6, Tamron 17-50/2.8, Sigma 30/1.4, Sigma 70-200/2.8, Tamron 70-300/4-5.6
MF - Vivitar CF 28/2.8, Tamron AD2 90/2.5, MTO 1000/11
Stuff - Metz 58 AF1, Cactus v4, Nikon SB24, Raynox 150, Sigma 1.4x TC, Sigma 2x TC, Kenko 2x macro TC, Redsnapper 283 tripod, iMac 27, Macbook Pro 17, iPad, iPhone 3G
Flickr Fluidr PPG Street Portfolio site
Feel free to edit any of my posted photos! If I post a photo for critique, I want brutal honesty. If you don't like it, please say so and tell me why!

KatieW

Link Posted 15/10/2010 - 11:35
Thanks Tim, that makes sense as I was struggling a bit with the Lightroom cloning/healing tool because of just what you say. That's good then, I haven't invested in the wrong piece of software!!
Regards
Katie

MrCynical

Link Posted 15/10/2010 - 11:38