Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

K200d lens?

Cressy
Posted 29/01/2009 - 15:24 Link
Hi, im pretty new to photography, and ive been choosing a camera to buy for a while.
Ive decided to buy the pentax k200d which im sure you all will no is a beginners camera!
Im just stuck on the lens option!!
I have three options
the 18-55mm lens
the 18-55mm, the 55-200mm
or the 18-250mm lens

I would use the smaller lens more but I would like a bigger lens just for flexability!
Is the 18-55mm stock lens good enough for simple photogrpahy? or is the 18-250mm miles better?
I would just like a bit of input or your sucsesses with your lens.
As i say, im a noob to photography.
Thanks again,
Matty
jon.dc
Posted 29/01/2009 - 15:40 Link
IMO it depend on your planned usage of the camera.

I personally found the 18-55 OK for indoors but limited once I got outdoors, so I soon plumped for the 18-250 to save swapping lenses over.

However a year on I am know upgrading to faster lenses, of which this range will not be covered by one lens. So its a choice between which lenses I buy to make up the desired range.

A bit of a horses for courses thing depending on your needs and budget.

If you decide to go for the 18-250, I have a mint Pentax DA one for sale thats about a year old.
Anvh
Posted 29/01/2009 - 15:49 Link
Hi Matty welcome to the Forum.

It's really what you want to do with the camera with decides what for lens you will use. The best way is to get the good lenses from the started and not trying to save your budget on buying cheap, you will always end up buying it anyway.