Intellectual Property

Error
  • You need to be logged in to vote on this poll

SMarsden

Link Posted 23/09/2012 - 17:55
Good afternoon all

Some of you on this forum may already know me, but for those of you that don't : I am an artistic photographer and peruse it as a hobby, I studied photography at both College and University under John Blakemore and feel myself that I am very talented, technically and artistically, (but the latter is purely subjective).

I have offered my services to a family member whom has started his own Wedding Photography business. I have been ‘Second Photographer’ for 11 weddings and 4 engagement shoots thus far. I have also offered my time for the foreseeable future. I not asked for payment for my time or images and have told my cousin that he may use the images on the condition that I am credited wherever they appear.

As some of you may be established Photographers within the ‘Wedding Photography Community’ I was hoping I may ask your advice.

I am finding a large number of my images on the internet unaccredited. They appear on my cousins Facebook page as well as his website which he uses to promote his work.

When someone offers themselves as second photographer for a day, where do they stand in terms of their images? Is intellectual property ownership discussed and agreed beforehand? Is image usage rights discussed? And of course do you credit the volunteer that came to work with you?
Are there any ‘unwritten rules’ regarding this? For example: in exchange for valuable experience with a world renowned pro, the second photographer has certain ‘hoops to jump through’ and thus surrenders any rights to their own images?