Help with a sigma lens

Squire

Link Posted 18/04/2012 - 16:38
Hi - I'm fairly new to dslr ownership, so excuse any daft questions!

I recently purchased a Sigma 28-70mm f3.5/4.5 from ebay, advertised as a PK mount lens. However I tried fitting it to my K-x and I can't get it to lock into place. I was fairly sure that all K-mount lenses should work with a k-x body. I have no other 'old' lenses to compare it with, only the 18-55mm and 50-200mm kit lenses (which work perfectly as expected). I've had a look online but can't find any helpful info, so if anyone can help me out it'd be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
Johnny

Mannesty

Link Posted 18/04/2012 - 16:58
Can you provide some photos of the lens, in particular showing the mount and any lettering on the lens.

If it's a K mount lens, it should fit, but don't force it.

The mount mechanics, lug spacing etc. should be almost identical to your other lenses. it's only the electrical contacts and aperture mechanism that will be different.
Peter E Smith

My flickr Photostream

Frogherder

Link Posted 18/04/2012 - 17:06
Does the fitting look any different in any way?

If it is PK then it should fit.

Just a thought. Is it too small, because a Minolta MD fitting is very similar but smaller diameter

regards
Bernard

greynolds999

Link Posted 18/04/2012 - 17:07
Good point about the Minolta fitting.

Also, check the mount. There is a small hole where the locking pin goes in. Check there is no debris in it.
My Photobucket

Patty

Link Posted 18/04/2012 - 19:28
Also could be a Praktica PB bayonet mount.

Looks very similar to PK but just does not fit and the aperture lever is in different position. Possibly would be marked PB.

Pat

Squire

Link Posted 18/04/2012 - 19:42
I have a link to some photos of the lens:

link

Hope these help.

Cheers,

Johnny
Johnny

stigg

Link Posted 18/04/2012 - 20:57