Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

Hello and a Request For Help Please!

GBR
Posted 04/03/2016 - 19:30 Link
Hello Everyone,

Well I have just joined and must admit that I already feel like a bit of a fraud because I do not own a camera. However, I have joined this forum in the hope of some unbiased information please.

I am without question a complete beginner, just taking the odd holiday snaps with my Panasonic bridge camera, but promising myself one day to purchase a DLSR and get more in it.

Ok, you can all have a laugh but my fascination is old Railway Stations, Railway Lines and landscapes, and these are the subjects in which I want to develop my skill.

I couple of years ago I picked up a magazine that was doing a review f the Pentax K 50 and it was quite a rave review too. This is the camera for me I thought, and when the time comes this will be my camera of choice.

So some years later I find myself in a position to have enough time now to start putting things into action. So off I trot to the local large camera shop and ask if I could look at the K50? This was immediately greeted with the salesman giving me a grin, “ You don't want to touch that sir, the lenses have very little choice, and the company have gone backwards, what you should go for is the Nikon D5300”. Yes but it has received rave reviews in the magazines, to which he told me that Pentax pay the magazine to give it a good review.

So off to the next largest outlet where again I got a chuckle and story that Pentax were in trouble, there product was far behind that of Nikon and Canon and once again the concern about the lenses was raised.