Hello - about to be a Pentax user...

burnhole

Link Posted 03/10/2013 - 15:48
Hi - I have been using an Olympus Pen (micro four thirds) for the last 3 years, which increasingly better results. I have two lenses 14-14 and 40-150 (representing 18-300 in 35mm format). I have also come to understand the limitations of my current system and will be moving to a Pentax DSLR. Reasons for Pentax - I have an elder brother who has used Pentax since film days (last 30 years). I am attacted by the waterproof bodies (more later). Value for money and for some reason I tend to stay clear of the 'popular' brands in many walks of life.

Looking back of my photos my type of photography - landscapes, kids sports - rugby, cricket and surfing, and portrait shots. I have many 'good' photos at 28mm (although I wish they could be wider), 75mm, 90mm and 250mm focul lengths (all quoted in 35mm terms). I am also starting to dabble at video with the sports.

I have yet to 'pull the trigger' and buy the Pentax and I have done far too much internet research!

I have held the k-5 and loved the feel. I was leaning towards the k-5 & 18-135 but was hesitant due to the video aspect.

Now the short list is k-30 or k-50 - with either twin WR kits lenses 18-55 & 50-200 or WR 18-135. With that would be a 50mm prime - unsure on the manual or auto at this stage (depends on funds).

Standing on the touch-line at rugby in all weathers I would feel happier with the WR setup. Standing knee deep in the sea in Cornwall trying to catch that surfing sillouette against the setting sun WR would be good again against any random splashes.

K5-II I think is more camera than I need right now, this being my first DSLR although the Olympus has similiar functions. Having siad that it represents good value. By the way did I say that the shutter lag on the Olympus is annoying and the lack of a view finder a hinderance too.