Extension Tubes, Bellows and Macro Lenses

Anonymous

Link Posted 20/10/2005 - 14:56
Kim C.'s manuals have provuded extensive information on the use of Extension Tubes and Bellows with M42 bodies and the Takumar family of "Normal" lenses. He was trying to head off my usual silly questions, but here's a few that slipped through Kim's excellent defence perimeter.

I've had no experience with Pentax's Marco Lenses yet - have to win a major lottery first. Other than the obvious advantage of being able to focus anywhere from really close to infinity, are the Macro lens superior to say a 1:1.4 50mm Super Multi on tubes or bellows for really tight work?

I guess image clarity and the ever-diminishing DOF would be the factors I'd like to compare.

I've seen close-up pictures of items offered for sale on eBay which were taken with a 50mm macro, and the clarity was stunning (I'm referring to wideangleman). Now, while these are close focus, I personnaly don't consider them to be macro. Is there a narrow definition?

I've seen close-up lenses for sale which screw on like a filter and, I suppose, allow for closer focusing of normal lenses. Does this approach Macro?

There's gotta be a glossary somewhere?

Halp!!

Kim C

Link Posted 20/10/2005 - 16:49
Hi Mac,
the true definition of macro is 1x - 10x lifsize on the film. Up to 1x is closeup. However, many lens makers will call their lenses macro if a normal print is lifesize rather than the neg. this equates to 1/4 - 1/5 lifesize but in reality it is close focus. the lenses themselves, normally zoom are optimised fo normal work and not macro so quality is workable but not good. A true macro lens is optimised for good flat field performance and close range work although many will focus to infinity and be perfectly workable. A bellows lens is designed for bellows work and because the focus is down with the bellows, they have no focus mechanism so can't be used like a normal lens.