Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

Be gentle...I'm new here..Focus confirmation Q

Ancly
Posted 05/03/2010 - 23:10 Link
Hi,

I have just picked up a K100D plus a Pentax-A 50mm 1:1.7 and a Beck 135mm 1:1.28.

Now from what I have read [and remember I'm new to this] they both should give a focus confirmation beep/red dot/symbol at bottom of the viewfinder.

In reality when I fit the A 1.7 the camera asks for it's focal length and I get the focus confirmation. The Beck is manual and the camera does not ask for the focal length nor give focus confirmation.

Info is from http://pentaxdigital.tdn9.be//?page_id=4 and I have set the camera up as they suggest.

I'm not too bothered as I have taken some good shots of the squirrels on the bird table but if I am missing something...please advise!

Many thanks

Andy
Transit
Posted 05/03/2010 - 23:15 Link
Welcome Andy and nice camera choice !
No idea why the 'Beck' is not asking for focal length confirmation. You have to turn off the camera, make sure SR is 'on', fit lens then turn on.

The focus confirmation is a green hexagon at the bottom of the viewfinder. The red spot in the middle is just confirming where focus spot is located. In the case of non A lenses I think centre spot is the only option.
Good luck
Pete
K-1 K-01 Q-7
some len

Close to the Edge
Down by the River
Anvh
Posted 05/03/2010 - 23:38 Link
Welcome to the forum

You need to permit manual aperture you can find that option in the "custom" menu, that should do the trick.

hmm that's this option from you link.
Under Menu>Custom Setting, make sure “Using Aperture Ring” is set to “2 - permitted”, this is OFF by default.

Like said that should do the trick...
Stefan
Comment Image

K10D, K5
DA* 16-50, DA* 50-135, D-FA 100 Macro, DA 40 Ltd, DA 18-55
AF-540FGZ
Edited by Anvh: 05/03/2010 - 23:39
Greytop
Posted 05/03/2010 - 23:43 Link
Welcome to the forum Andy
Regards Huw

flickr
gregmoll
Posted 05/03/2010 - 23:56 Link
Ancly wrote:
Hi,
and a Beck 135mm 1:1.28.
Andy