Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

affordable fast 85mm?

Posted 31/03/2007 - 14:53 Link
I do some gig photography, often in very low light. The only lens I have that is actually fast enough much of the time is the 50mm 1.4 - and thats at 1600 iso.

I am a musician myself and amuse myself at gigs and festivals by photographing the other musicians.

I have a ist DS a M 50mm f1.4 and a generic (super paragon) f2.8 135mm and a 70-210mm zoom f2.8-4

so i have a bit of a gap right in the very useful 80mm sort of range.

I have seen the FA* 85mm f1.4 and the newer 77mm and they look very nice but way too expensive for now. Also can't find anyone actually selling the 85mm at any price.

so I'm wondering if I have any options in the 70-100mm range at f2 or faster that might be affordable.

the lens would mostly be used wide open or close to it.

any suggestions?
Arthur Dent
Posted 31/03/2007 - 15:42 Link
There is an M 85mm f/2 lens that might show up used from time to time, it won't be that expensive.
42 Comment Image
Posted 31/03/2007 - 16:35 Link
thanks! that sounds good!

I havent seen one on ebay.

where should I look?

what would be a fair price?

I have googled it but its slim pickings, all I found so far was overpriced or already sold I think....

Arthur Dent wrote:
There is an M 85mm f/2 lens that might show up used from time to time, it won't be that expensive.

bretbysteve
Posted 31/03/2007 - 17:37 Link
Hi Thomas,

I buy and sell older manual focus gear including Pentax K for a hobby. You have a choice of two more affordable lenses. The later pentax SMC-M 85mm f2 lens and the fairly scarce SMC-K 85mm f1.8 lens.

They both appear on ebay, though the pentax DSLR users have been buying them up like wild fire in the last two years and they appear much less frequently than they did only 3 years ago.