Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

50 f1.7 Pentax or other with pentax fit

ibcsweb
Posted 15/10/2008 - 09:25 Link
Looking for one with auto focus as it is to use for sport photos in low light and hopefully have a go at some portrait stuff. I am just getting started so please bear that in mind if I ask for something that does not exist or say I will be using ot for the wrong thing. I take constructive critisisum well so when I make a mistake please let me know.
Many thanks all!
Pentax K10D 18-55 Kit Lens, Sigma 70-300, Photoshop CS (for now).
Nimitz
Posted 15/10/2008 - 09:45 Link
You will find two versions FA or F with f1.7 and a 1.4 verison. You can still buy the 1.4 in shops.

It is roughly £150 new.

It is possible to pick them up at ebay around £100 (second hand).

People rarely part with them when first purchased.

Edit: Try take a look here
Others love the older manual focus more (K,M or A models). It all depends on style. For portraits you could use a manual lens just as well.

Just one thing you need to remember using F1.4 or similar. The DOF (the sharp area) will be were shallow. Sometimes people makes mistake thinking the lens is not sharp - it is - but you will notice the sharp area in the shot will be very shallow/limited. Hope that makes sence. Happy hunting - and keep asking.
Edited by Nimitz: 15/10/2008 - 09:52
ibcsweb
Posted 15/10/2008 - 21:11 Link
Nimitz wrote:
You will find two versions FA or F with f1.7 and a 1.4 verison. You can still buy the 1.4 in shops.

It is roughly £150 new.

It is possible to pick them up at ebay around £100 (second hand).

People rarely part with them when first purchased.

Edit: Try take a look here
Others love the older manual focus more (K,M or A models). It all depends on style. For portraits you could use a manual lens just as well.