Why do people spend money on photoshop?

Topic Lock(s)
  • Topic Locked - You will not be able to post to this topic.

ewen_r

Link Posted 10/07/2008 - 12:41
One thing has bothered me a great deal since getting interested in digital photography.. and that is

"Why do people spend money on photoshop?"

I am by no means an expert on digital image manipulation (I do very little) but when I do, I use GIMP which is freeware and for most intents and purposes seems to do everything that photoshop can do. I think it has one possible limitation, in that it is not yet 16-bits/channel but I hear even that is coming soon.

Perhaps my question can be expanded further... Why do so many magazines and online articles/tutorials also refer to Photoshop? Maybe there is some kind of self-fulfilling prophecy here. ie we buy photoshop because that's what we hear about so often.. and we hear about photoshop so much because that's what everyone has bought.

Anyway, I'd love to hear your opinions. If you absolutely have to have photoshop, please tell me why..
If, like me, you are getting by with GIMP then let's hear it too.
Maybe you've bought photoshop and are still wondering why you paid money for something you could have done with freeware?

ewen

Father Ted

Link Posted 10/07/2008 - 13:10
I've started using GIMP, but I have a copy of Paintshop Pro 9 and I find the layers in that easier to use. But that might be lack of practice with GIMP.
Getting there! Thanks to you guys

Pentax K10d, *istDL, Kit lens ( 18-55mm ), 50mm f1.7 lens, Tamron 70-300mm lens, Prinzflex 70-162 manual lens, Various old flashes.

amoringello

Link Posted 10/07/2008 - 13:28
Dunno about later releases, but last time used the Gimp, it was slow and unstable. It lacked some of the features I 'thought" I needed in photoshop at the time and tutorials were geared towards photoshop and generally near unavailable for other products.