Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

Which lens, 50mm 1.4 or 40mm 2.8 ?

morelia
Posted 21/01/2009 - 14:47 Link
I have a Km with it's kit lens and a 55-300 telezoom.
I want to get a good quality and neat standard lens and like the small size and closeness to 50 in 35mm of the 40 but the 50 is faster.
I don't really want a non Pentax lens as both of these Pentax ones seem very good.
Later I will be getting a 100mm macro lens.
I am new to DSLR.
Any opinions and guidance on the matter?
Edited by morelia: 21/01/2009 - 14:51
Mike-P
Posted 21/01/2009 - 14:55 Link
I have a Pentax F 50mm f1.7 and never use the thing.
Given the choice I would go for the DA 35mm f2.8 macro.

That way you wouldnt have to wait for a macro lens, although 100mm is certainly better in the long run.
hefty1
Posted 21/01/2009 - 16:11 Link
There's always the Pentax FA35/f2 - no longer in production but still in stock at a good number of suppliers. A friend of mine has the Samsung-badged version for his GX20 and it's a fantastic lens in terms of IQ, nice and compact and relatively fast.

The Pentax FA50/f1.4 is, of course, faster still - and cheaper! To see if you'd get on with any of these focal lengths then just set them on your 18-55 and spend a day walking round taking photos *without touching the zoom ring*. Repeat on successive days with each length (35/40/50) and see what suits you best. You won't have the speed or the quality that the primes bring but it'll give you a feel for their focal lengths.

You might just find that 40mm is perfect for what you do or that 50mm isn't as constrictive as you feared. If 35mm is the one for you then at least you'll have proved it to yourself with logic - takes a little of the sting out of the wallet...

Personally, I just love the 43mm as my "standard" lens - it's a bit longer than I suspect most people would like but it just feels right to me. And that's the point, all of this is really subjective so only you will know for sure what tickles your fancy.