Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

What to charge for music festival pics??

saxon
Posted 08/08/2014 - 17:16 Link
I'm an airline pilot by profession but a recent ankle problem has led me to consider photography as more than just a 33 year long hobby and might be a potential back-up plan if the pilot career ends up going down the drain.

Our local successful pub runs an annual music festival with several bands and an audience of around 2000 people attending. I decided to have a chat to the landlord beforehand and asked if he had anyone photographing the event. It turned out that the guy they usually use (who is a keen amateur) was away and so he was delighted for me to do it. We didn't discuss pricing, he did agree that I could sell some of my landscape work off the walls of his pub and of course I would gain valuable experience and exposure by doing it.

I spent from 4.30pm until after midnight shooting intensively. The landlord wanted lots of candid pictures of the audience and also lots of pictures of a rather unglamorous burger van. I bought a Tamron F2.8 17-50mm especially for the event to gain a stop. I spent a further two days selecting the best images and post-processing them and I'm very pleased with some of them - especially the night-time band shots. I sent a link to the band and they were very complementary and in fact have now asked if I would be interested in shooting the cover of their forthcoming album!