"What goes round, comes around" - it must be F8

PeterKR

Link Posted 11/04/2013 - 19:49
Strange how "What goes round comes around" is so true !

When I was a student 50 years ago, just starting 35mm photography with a Kodak Retinette with a 45mm fixed lens, using Govt surplus bulk FP3 that I loaded onto old cassettes in the University darkroom, I found that I shot most things at 1/125 at f/8 so used this as my ‘normal setting’. I did all my own developing and enlarging so played around with the image during developing - changing the print exposure time and rubbing the light spots to bring them up etc !

Now we are in the digital age with 'all singing and dancing' cameras that can do everything for us I've tended to get a bit 'lazy' leaving my K-r on 'P' most of the time ! I've also expected the lenses to perform well even 'wide open' - after all why buy a fast lens and stop it down ?

However, after getting some disappointing results from the 18-55 kit lens and reading the various postings on this Forum I now realise that MOST lenses need stopping down and, guess what, f/8 is a very good option and that seems to be the general concensus!

From now on I guess 'P' will be dropped in favour of 'Av' and I'll play with the ISO to get the shutter speed right ! At least the K-r does perform quite well at high ISO’s so this should compensate for the lower light input from smaller apertures ? What is more, we can play around even more with our digital images using numerous items of software.

As one respondent said on the thread I posted on the freebie e-books "you are always learning, and that's half the fun !"

How true ! And it’s also one reason I keep watching this Forum - there is always something to add to the ‘fun’ !

Peter

Mannesty

Link Posted 11/04/2013 - 20:27