Weddings? who needs them?

gartmore

Link Posted 02/12/2013 - 14:17
I've just pulled out of a £2000 (for the photos) wedding at five weeks notice on getting an email from the bride, whose family I have known for many years, where she tells me that the banqueting manager of the hotel told her she doesnt need two photographers for 280 guests, her pal is a photographer who could be second shooter and her dad knows someone who can make the prints and the album. My reply:

Dear ____,

If you have a friend that is capable of doing it then go for that, clearly Gaynor the banqeting manager knows more about wedding photography than I do. This really isnt something that I want to be involved in since I've been photographing weddings since 1976 and I frankly can't be bothered this sort of amatuerish approach.

Best wishes
Ken
“We must avoid however, snapping away, shooting quickly and without thought, overloading ourselves with unnecessary images that clutter our memory and diminish the clarity of the whole.” - Henri Cartier-Bresson -

walkeja

Link Posted 02/12/2013 - 15:04
You forgot the "See yous Jimmy"
Pentax K1-ii and MZ6
Pentax Lenses 28-80 F, 300 DA*, 80-200 F, 35 F2.4 AL, M50 F1.7, 28-105 DFA, 20 F4 SMC
ONE UNITED Member

gartmore

Link Posted 02/12/2013 - 15:13
What on earth does that mean?
Ken
“We must avoid however, snapping away, shooting quickly and without thought, overloading ourselves with unnecessary images that clutter our memory and diminish the clarity of the whole.” - Henri Cartier-Bresson -

bettyswolloks

Link Posted 02/12/2013 - 15:44
I can feel your frustration! As you say, if the family friends are that good you services are no longer needed!

johnriley

Link Posted 02/12/2013 - 15:59
I think you can do without the hassle of that Ken.
Best regards, John

Dodge69

Link Posted 02/12/2013 - 16:16
LOL - Slam! 'Sorry... We're closed'