Tour de France

davidtrout

Link Posted 26/05/2014 - 21:58
A long time ago I was a road racer in amateur events. Competed in some events with the pros, including guys who had been in the Tour de France.
Nowadays there's no pro-am distinction but back in the 1960s there were some 1st cat events which also had semi pros (Independents) riding in them I gave it up when I got enaged and work became more demanding but came back to cycling in my 40s as a leisure hobby and after retirement rode a mountain bike on the many railway lines converted into cycle tracks near where I live. I don't ride any more now.
Carl you make me envious. Eurocar is more than just one of France's top teams, its one of the world's. That guy Tommy Voeckler in your team was a true star of the Tour de France a couple of years ago.
David

PPG: http://www.pentaxphotogallery.com/artists/davidtrout
PPG: http://www.pentaxphotogallery.com/artists/davidtrout
Last Edited by davidtrout on 26/05/2014 - 22:03

alimid

Link Posted 03/07/2014 - 17:23
Is anyone going to stage 3, Cambridge to London? I will be trying to catch start and finish after getting off the sleeper from Inverness.
Pentax K-1, K-3,K-5,

Blythman

Link Posted 03/07/2014 - 18:12
davidstorm wrote:
Been to check out the viewpoints today at my parents in law's house, there will be a superb view of the riders coming up Jawbone Hill in Sheffield, with no obstructions from spectators as they won't be allowed on this stretch of the road (it's too narrow and has no footpath).

Looking forward to getting some decent shots, this will take some planning.

Regards
David

Post code and house number please David
Alan

PPG
Flickr

davidstorm

Link Posted 03/07/2014 - 18:34
Blythman wrote:
Post code and house number please David

It's a closely guarded secret Alan People on this hill who own a bit of land are charging ridiculous amounts of money for one night's camping with no facilities.