Spotmatic SP Lenses - wide angle lens

NicholasBrown

Link Posted 10/04/2003 - 15:29
I have been using the Spotmatic SP for 7 months now, and am wanting to add a wide angled lense to my collection. But do not know which to go for, or for that matter, which lenses I can use with the screw mount fitting.

For starters, I am not to sure which length to go for (24/28/35mm)-is there a noticeable difference? Or does any body know if am I able to use a 28-80mm which will be far more versatile then a fixed focal length. Would they be hard to get hold of?

Cheers,
Nick

johnriley

Link Posted 10/04/2003 - 23:15
Ideally, I would look out for Super Takumar, Super-Multi-Coated Takumar or SMC Takumar lenses in mint condition. I have used the 28mm and 35mm lenses from these ranges by pentax and they are excellent. The 24mm would have been my preferred choice, although it will be bulky compared to the later (bayonet) M series lenses.

These days we are so used to looking at wide angle pictures the 24mm no longer looks ultra-wide and is, I think, a superb wide angle. When Kevin MacDonnell was asked if he could only have two lenses what would they be he replied, as concise as ever, "24mm and 100mm" and I think I would agree with that. Of course, depending on your photographic interests, you might have a different point of view.

I personally would not choose a zoom as a replacement for the excellent Pentax lenses of the period - it will be slower, of lower quality and not as well corrected as regards distortion. Also, vaiable apertures will be a nuisance as every time you zoom it will change the aperture value and you will need to re-meter.

Finally, should you obtain any earlier bodies than the Spotmatic don't forget that you need to be careful about fitting the Super Takumar 50mm f1.4 lens to some of them, because of the protuding rear element.

Enjoy the camera!
Best regards, John

satyricon

Link Posted 25/06/2003 - 22:23