Photography or Graphic Art?

Lowela

Link Posted 06/08/2010 - 19:54
I'm a beginner and I love the fact that I can always do some post production fiddling with my photos if I'm not happy with them. After reading through Davex's thread on his Iceland shots, I have also thought I would have probably done some tweaking myself if it were my photo (though the original is lovely in itself)... But then, sometimes, I am more satisfied if I get the photo I wanted with just my camera settings and no photoshop adjustment(which may sometimes mean trial shots and lots and lots of patience)...

Hhhmmmmmmm... This brings me to a question, what really is photography? Where's the fun and pride in taking pictures if we can at any point alter what we have photographed? And if some editing is allowed in photography, up to what extent is acceptable before we are no longer producing photographs but graphic art?

thoughton

Link Posted 06/08/2010 - 19:59
My opinion is that unless you are entering a competition or something similar there are no rules. Do whatever you like Just be honest about it and don't try to hide what you've done.
Tim
AF - Pentax K5, Sigma 10-20/4-5.6, Tamron 17-50/2.8, Sigma 30/1.4, Sigma 70-200/2.8, Tamron 70-300/4-5.6
MF - Vivitar CF 28/2.8, Tamron AD2 90/2.5, MTO 1000/11
Stuff - Metz 58 AF1, Cactus v4, Nikon SB24, Raynox 150, Sigma 1.4x TC, Sigma 2x TC, Kenko 2x macro TC, Redsnapper 283 tripod, iMac 27”, Macbook Pro 17”, iPad, iPhone 3G
Flickr • Fluidr • PPG • Street • Portfolio site
Feel free to edit any of my posted photos! If I post a photo for critique, I want brutal honesty. If you don't like it, please say so and tell me why!

Anvh

Link Posted 06/08/2010 - 20:46
Creating your photo in post processing is as much part off photography as selecting the right aperture and clicking the shutter. How ever you turn it, you need to process what the film capture with chemicals or use software to make from those zeros and ones from the sensor a photo.