'Old' lens advice needed.

fleaberto

Link Posted 23/10/2008 - 22:27
I bought an old 35mm SLR from a local charity shop, something to use to practice with as it's fully manual & i'm interested in taking shots on film as well as digital.
Now, it's a Phenix DC303K with a 50mm f1.7 lens on it. The whole outfit (with a case lol) cost me £10..yup, 10 of our english pounds. I've discovered (with a homer simpson style 'doh!') that the K in the name relates to 'k mount fit' - which means it should fit my K200D right? .. Fully manual with no 'A' , but seems to slot on ok? So i have to set Ap manually as well as focus manually but that's no drama as i'll use it as a portrait lens - 50mm 1.7 for just ten quid??? - a bargain or just leave it on the camera it came with?
Any experts out there gimme any advice/ideas?

Cheers
Lee
Fortune favours the brave.

Father Ted

Link Posted 23/10/2008 - 22:39
Well, I just paid £30 for an old K mount 50mm f1.7 lens for my *istDL.

But, I'm no expert.
Getting there! Thanks to you guys

Pentax K10d, *istDL, Kit lens ( 18-55mm ), 50mm f1.7 lens, Tamron 70-300mm lens, Prinzflex 70-162 manual lens, Various old flashes.

Mannesty

Link Posted 23/10/2008 - 22:41
What make is the lens?
Peter E Smith

My flickr Photostream

Hardgravity

Link Posted 23/10/2008 - 22:52
I'm no expert, I suggest trying a few varied shots and seeing what the results are. I use an old Ziess M42 lens with an adaptor on my K200D from time to time, very nice. You could have a bargain, there again...
Cheers, HG

K110+DA40, K200+DA35, K5+Tammy 18-250, a bag of lenses, bodies and other bits.

Mustn't forget the Zenits, or folders, or...

I've some gallerieshere CLICKY LINK! and my PPG entries.

hefty1

Link Posted 23/10/2008 - 23:51