Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

No K20D's available to try out

salixarbour
Posted 08/12/2008 - 13:11 Link
Hello, all.
This is my first post to the Forum, so I hope I get it right!

I'm relatively new to photography, and have been using a Sony A200 for the last 6 months (my first DSLR). I've done a lot of reading and learning, and recently even joined the local camera club.

I'm seriously considering opting for the K20D with the new 18-250 lens.
However, I can't find any high-street shop which stocks these for any potential buyer to try out. There are of course lots of Canon 40D & 50D's, Nikon D90's & various Sony bodies. I have to say that last Friday afternoon I was nearly swayed by a nice D90 sporting a Nikkor 18-105 kit lens. Sorry if that's bad language around here!

Has anybody any advice on how someone who is considering joining the fold can first of all test out the K20D. Or should I buy the readily available D90, even the D300 . . . please, no shouting!

Regards.

Alan L-J. (Cheshire).
Camera: K20D.
Lenses: Pentax DA* 55mm f1.4 SDM, Pentax DA* 16-50 SDM, Pentax 18-250 SMC DA, Pentax-M 50mm f1.7, Sigma 70-300 F4-5.6 DG macro.
Flash: Pentax AF360.
womble
Posted 08/12/2008 - 14:53 Link
Welcome to the fora. We all hope you buy a Pentax, you won't regret it

If you were further south I'd suggest visiting SRS in Watford who have all the Pentax stuff in stock and their rivals. Perhaps one of our more northerly members can suggest somewhere more local.

Best wishes and have fun with whatever you choose, Kris.

PS could you add your location to your profile, please? It is only so we can be more helpful with questions like this!
Kris Lockyear
It is an illusion that photos are made with the camera… they are made with the eye, heart and head. Henri Cartier-Bresson
Lots of film bodies, a couple of digital ones, too many lenses (mainly older glass) and a Horseman LE 5x4.

My website
SnapperSteve
Posted 08/12/2008 - 15:24 Link
Hi and seasons greetings to all.