Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

Manchester Photography Exhibition

Posted 01/02/2013 - 01:20 Link
Hi all

I just wanted to give you the heads up re a photography exhibition I'm doing in Manchester over the next few weeks.

It's from Feb 10th - March 1st at the Wendy J Levy Gallery in Didsbury, and centres around a project I've been working on for the last 3 years or so, specifically featuring photographs I've taken in and around Manchester.

Comment Image

Entitled "Passing Through", it's an exploration of the passing of time, and the specific impact it has had, and continues to have, on Manchester and the North West.

It concentrates on many of the places, and themes, that intrigued me about the area whilst I was up there working: the constant juxtaposition of old and new, industrialisation and reinvention, past and present.

Comment Image

How each generation has left, and continues to leave, their own unique footprint as they pass through. And what happens to that footprint once it has been left behind.

As some as you might have noticed from some of the pics I've posted on the gallery at PU, I'm particularly interested in how the passing of time can be captured in a single photographic frame: most of the pictures were taken with long exposures, sometimes up to 3 minutes, and occasionally beyond.

Comment Image

I'll be giving a talk (!yikes!) at the exhibition opening between 3 - 5 pm on Sunday 10th Feb. All are genuinely welcome. Would be great to put some faces to names if any of you are around that way and fancy dropping by.

The exhibition itself runs from Feb 10th to March 1st 2013, and is at:

The Wendy J Levy Gallery
17 Warburton Street
Didsbury
Manchester
M20 6WA

Here's a link to the Wendy J Levy Gallery link

And here's a link to the exhibition pictures on my website... link

Do drop by if you can... would be great to see you there.

Thanks very much
richandfleur
Posted 01/02/2013 - 02:58 Link