lens aperture not working & i cant open my battery cover?

molo

Link Posted 16/02/2004 - 02:04
hello everybody

im a newbie in photography and i recently acquired a 2nd hand asahi pentax SPII with a takumar lens (Takumar 50mm f/1.4).

i dont know if anybody had asked this before, but my problem is this, i have tried changing the aperture setting of my lens and i can see that the aperture is not closing or opening (it is always in its widest setting). is the aperture of my lens still working fine or do i need to have it repaired?

another problem of mine is this, i cant open my battery cover, i would like to open it so that i can use its exposure meter, anybody here had the same problem before that can help me.

any advice or comments will be greatly appreciated. btw nice forum you guys have

Stephen

Link Posted 16/02/2004 - 08:00
Hi Molo,

I assume from your post that the lens is on the camera when you have been changing the aperture. To give the brightest possible image in the viewfinder the lens is designed to remain open at full aperture until the shutter is fired, at which point it shuts down to the selected aperture for the duration of the exposure. You can check this is working correctly in a number of ways but the simplest way would be to do the following:

1. set the camera to a slow shutter speed (or even the bulb setting)
2. Select a small aperture to start with (F16)
3. Fire the shutter and observe the lens iris - it should close to the selected stop and immediately the shutter has fired return to full aperture

Best wishes
Stephen

molo

Link Posted 16/02/2004 - 09:17
hello stephen,

thanks alot for the reply, i really appreciate it