K10 battery charger output voltage?

Lloydy

Link Posted 16/02/2010 - 17:30
I bought a new multimeter today and was sat here playing with it and I measured the voltage on the K10 battery charger terminals, and it's varying in approximately 1 second cycles from 2.49 to 4.33 to 6.68 volts.

I have checked the meter against other known voltages, AC and DC, and against my ancient AVO.6 ( I needed a new meter ! ) so I'm confident of the reading.

The detail on the base of the charger states "Output DC 8.4V"

Is this oscillating voltage because there's no battery in the charger?

I'm a mechanical engineer, not a sparky.

terje-l

Link Posted 16/02/2010 - 17:50
Any charger (or power supply for that matter) needs a decent load to show the correct output voltage. I suggest you repeat the measurement with the battery connected.

Also an engineer, but this time an electronics.
Best regards
Terry

K20D, Optio I10, DA 18-55 1:3.5-5.6 AL II, A 1:1.7/50, D FA 1:2.8/100 Macro, Sigma 70-300 1:4-5.6 APO DG Macro, Pentax AF 360FGZ

Lloydy

Link Posted 16/02/2010 - 18:17
That's what I thought might be the reason, thanks for confirming it.

BUT......

I just checked a few other chargers and they show constant voltage that equates with the stated output. So now I'm confused. ( This is the point a fitter hits something with a BFH )

bretti_kivi

Link Posted 16/02/2010 - 19:29
chargers for what? Li-Ion or NiMH?
my pics: link
my kit: K3, K5, K-01, DA 18-55, D-FA50 macro, Siggy 30/1.4, 100-300/f4, 70-200/2.8, Samsung 12-24/f4, Tamron 17-50, and lots of other bits.

Lloydy

Link Posted 16/02/2010 - 19:34
It's the standard K10 charger, and I've just checked it with a Li-Ion battery and it's dead on 8 volts.

Oggy

Link Posted 16/02/2010 - 19:50