Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

Just purchased a k3 II and need advice on specific lens

Posted 25/08/2015 - 13:04 Link
I am new to digital photography. Used to do a lot of work back in the film days n the early 80's and do know my way around a camera and lighting effects as I took product photos for my small business as I always thought it was better to do something yourself and learn something new as opposed to paying someone else to do it for you.

I just bought a K3 II with the DA* 55mm 1.4 lens after a lot of research. I wanted this for a good camera for general use but I also got it for the pixel shift feature as want to produce images like the one in this post. We sell knitted products and judging from the sample images of threads and fabric, I think the pixel shift will give me the images i want without breaking my pocketbook. Now the sock is about 16 inches high and about 9 inches across at its widest.

My question is what would be the best lens for this specific type of product? I want to emphasize the details in the knit and use the whole frame of the camera without being 10 feet away. The salesman said i needed a macro lens and wanted to sell me the 100mm pentax. I went with the 55mm as a good all around lens but it seemed like with a 100mm lens, i would have to back up too far to get the whole sock in the pick. Macro to me meant close pics of small objects and I never really did any of that in my day, my products were industrial equipment when i was taking pics. So given the dimensions of the sock and the pick below, what would be a great lens for this specific purpose?

Thanks in advance.
Comment Image
LennyBloke
Posted 25/08/2015 - 13:17 Link
A macro lens would be the best type for this type of photography - the DA35mm f2.8 Limited would allow you to be closer to the subject - the 50mm versions would probably be a touch too long and the 100mm (as you've pointed out) is definitely too long.