Is the new Pentax HD FA 50mm 1.4 WR significantly better than my old SMC Pentax-A 50mm 1.7?

angkymac

Link Posted 29/10/2019 - 02:00
Hello--
Have just found and joined this "PentaxUser" site, although I have used Pentax cameras and lenses for several decades. Moved up into Pentax with an MX back around 1984(?). I'm not a professional, but have published a few images and done weddings, along with a huge collection of B&W and Kodachromes--using mostly three prime lenses of the film era. Also, I've shot quite a bit of medium format (I have a Pentax 6x7 film camera and a Mamiya 6).

I Just purchased a K1-ii and am quite surprised at the difference between film and digital. So I have a question--
The new, very pricey Pentax HD FA 50mm AW 1.4 lens looks huge! But will it outperform the old 50mm SMC Pentax-A 1.8? Almost ready to purchase the new one to go with the digital sensor, but first I want to be sure the new glass is really an improvement worth that much capital outlay.

Specifically, I want to ask you folks if the new Pentax F-DA 50mm 1.4 WR is a necessary improvement over the old 50mm 1.7 for an experienced non-professional photographer?
Angky.
Angky.

RobL

Link Posted 29/10/2019 - 07:40
Welcome, by all reports the new 50mm f1.4 is outstanding and if I recall the Cameraville on YouTube did a comparison review which favoured the new lens over others. I picked one up at launch and the focus was impressively fast and quiet, however I opted in the end for a smaller 50mm prime simply because I wanted a lighter more portable lens as an alternative to my 24-70 f2.8 zoom. I am inclined to think the new lens is aimed primarily at studio and fashion type shoots although would obviously perform excellently in other situations. Maybe others who have actually bought the lens can report on how they find it.

K10D

Link Posted 29/10/2019 - 08:09