Introduction

amosstarz

Link Posted 21/10/2005 - 20:37
Hi.

I came across this forum recently and became quite excited. I have been a Pentax fan and user for about 17 years. I started shooting photos with a K1000 and various K-Mount Chinon Bodies. Then somehow along the way...I became a Zuikoholic. Tho I have never forgotten about Pentax and there is always at least 1 Pentax body in my collection. Currently that lucky body is a ZX-L AF. Someday I plan to purchase a LX.

I am doing some research on a DSLR and I have narrowed my research down to the Pentax *istds2 and Olympus E-500. I am quite concerned that the *istds2 is not shipping yet. What is Pentax doing? In the meantime I bought a Pentax *istds but quickly sold it because I am still unsure.

In any case - I still enjoy Pentax and what Pentax stands for. All of my Pentax equipment has been faithful to me....like a good friend that you cannot let go.

I hope to learn from all of you.

Peace.

- Ali

johnriley

Link Posted 21/10/2005 - 22:10
Welcome, Ali, hope you enjoy the site!
Best regards, John

Anonymous

Link Posted 22/10/2005 - 07:51
Hello Ali,

I am confused but then that is not unusual for me. You say you bought an *istDs but that you quickly sold it I wonder why? Did you not enjoy using it?

Dave.

amosstarz

Link Posted 22/10/2005 - 15:27
I live in a smaller city, local camera shops do not have the Pentax *istds or even the *istd on display/demo. The price for the DS at Willoughby's (willoughby.com) is excellent. Anyhow I really have my heart set on the *istds2....so I just really wanted to "feel" the DS to get an idea.

I really liked it...very comfortable to hold. NICE CAMERA.

I am a little upset and concerned as to why Pentax is not shipping the ISTDS2. They are missing out on the Christmas holiday and also other manufacturer's (i.e., Olympus and Canon) who have released new models that are shipping or will ship early November.

- Ali

George Lazarette

Link Posted 22/10/2005 - 20:43