In defence of the DA* 16-50

BarryE

Link Posted 03/04/2014 - 15:44
When I bought this lens a year ago I struggled with it. I wanted something else - something uniformly sharp across the frame, or so I thought. I subsequently bought a couple of primes in the range and have been very happy with them (DA 20 & 40). However, this winter I decided to have a concerted effort with the 16-50.

I studied the resolution charts and analysed my previous results and after some time I realised what this lens was about (I think).

This is what I think now, for what it's worth:

# This lens is difficult to use, until you understand it (I'm getting there, I think).
# I started with dull misty days and generally poor light and somehow it pulled something out from the dullness. A quality that I don't think the primes would have found. The colours on fine days are striking.
# It isn't equally sharp across the frame. In fact it is significantly less sharp at the edges at extreme apertures. This I first thought was a huge problem. However, I now see it as an advantage, creatively. It can be very sharp in the centre.
# It is a heavy lens. This is subjective, really, especially as I have been using small primes. I've found that I do need a tripod on most occasions to obtain the sharpness. Is this due to the weight or balance ? But again, I now see this as an advantage. Slows me down too. Fewer snaps.

Overall, I'm glad I tried again to learn this lens. It is the most tricky lens to use in my collection, but I'm growing to appreciate it.

In my opinion, the review test charts for this lens are in some ways misleading as they miss the point. They do point out how the lens performs in a mechanical way, but I should have stood back at the beginning and tried to interpret what the data was trying to say ie it is NOT a lens with flaws, but a challenging lens with much potential.

(I did to dial in a +5 adjustment at the start to get it to focus accurately.)