I opened a box and found:
35-70mm petri mc- ebay 22
SMC Prime lense Pentax-A F1.7 50mm- 50
Hanimex Automatic zoom 80-200mm 4.5 MC- 25
PENTAX P/K FIT VIVITAR MC 3X-22 Tele Converter 40
Pentax A3 Camera 25
Filters and holders- ???
Red cable? What's this?

Could anybody explain, Do I need VIVITAR MC 3X-22 Tele Converter to my K5, or all of the filters and holders. If yes How Can I use it?
What about old Camera? How to check if is working?

Sorry for plenty of question, but I'm completely new with this?

PeterLovesK5

Link Posted 07/11/2013 - 13:44

johnriley

Link Posted 07/11/2013 - 14:09
The red cable is a mechanical cable release. If you should use it on a mechanical camera, don't push the trigger in all the way or you'll likely jam the shutter. Just push it enough, very gently, to actually trip the shutter.

Helpful

Mannesty

Link Posted 07/11/2013 - 14:17
The red cable is a cable release, it screws into the shutter button of film cameras including the Pentax A3. It looks as though the one you have locks as well so you can make very long 'Bulb' exposures (google it).

Re the tele-converter, if you mount it between the camera and your 50mm lens, you effectively change the apparent focal length to 150mm. You'll need to decide whether you want to keep it or not. It's unlikely to produce optically outstanding images.

Re the filters, it depends what they are and whether or not you intend to shoot film. Some of them will probably be useful on a DSLR, but I doubt there will be many.

Re the A3 camera. Put a battery, maybe two, into the bottom of it and try a film through it. Check the light seals on the back and in and around the mirror box and replace as necessary.

Sounds like you got quite a bargain there.

Do check all of the lenses for fungus before mounting them any any DSLR or storing them with other lenses.
Peter E Smith

My flickr Photostream

Helpful

PeterLovesK5

Link Posted 07/11/2013 - 14:33