How do i take Pictures of lightning

Kal 10 d

Link Posted 10/03/2008 - 20:53
Ok ,as some, (or all) of you know im new to the SLR world and what with our weather lately im quite excited at the possibility of getting a few lightning pix to add to my small collection (labelled-"lee trying to be a photographer"-honest ,thats what my file is called!!).
So where do i start- with which exposure & aperture etc . Obviously it is at night mostly so i'll need (im guessing) a wider aperture and longer exposure time, but would this not be left to chance .... I know -im REALLY new to SLR game so be gentle, but i dont have a clue where to start ???? Thanks in advance for being so patient....
K10 d-18-55mm
Tamron 70-300mm

The purpose of life is to live a life of purpose..

MX veteran

Link Posted 10/03/2008 - 22:12
You really have to get lucky most of the time. Storms can come from nowhere when you least expect them. If you are shooting in the dark then if you know where the storm is you can point the camera in the right direction and use bulb and keep the shutter open for a long time, until you get a flash of lightning. BUT at any other time there is an element of luck to it. If you think about it though most flashes of lightning last at least half a second or so. Again if you can predict where the storm is going set up your tripod and use a shutter release and react bloody fast when lightning strikes. Somewhere I have a photo of a storm (on film) at night taken using bulb with about 7 or 8 different strikes. I was aided by a power cut over the shooting area so there was no street lights etc. I was lucky 'cos I had time to quickly set everything up. I couldn't focus, so I used F11 at infinity and held the shutter open with a cable release for at least 2 minutes.
K100D Super, 18-55, 50-200, Sigma 10-20, Sigma 70mm macro and lots of old lenses

amoringello

Link Posted 10/03/2008 - 22:17
Easy as pie...