Hi and bit of advice

Pergamon

Link Posted 12/10/2015 - 12:11
I've been shooting with a K5 for about 4 yrs. recently bought a K3 as I really liked the reviews and wanted a newer camera.

I'm going to Reykjavik at the end of November. Hopefully I'll see the northern lights, I'm going to get one chance to photograph the lights, I'll be using my new K3 with the K5 as backup. I'll be using a sigma 17-50 mm f2.8 a sigma ultra wide and a Pentax 50mm. F1.8. Any advice on the actual taking the shot and on protecting my cameras. What could be extreme temperatures is making me really nervous and the thought of shiny new K3 getting damaged as a result.....too much to bear.

johnriley

Link Posted 12/10/2015 - 13:37
I know the feeling of having something glistening and new, but in the end there's no point buying something that we're afraid to use. So I would bite the bullet and take the camera out come what may. Don't forget insurance though!
Best regards, John

doingthebobs

Link Posted 12/10/2015 - 18:18
Just looked up and the temperatures vary between +9 & -7 in November. Shouldn't cause any problems for a Pentax!

I've had both my K5 and K10 out all day in Scotland in temperatures like those and not had any problems. I usually carry the camera in a CCS holster and take it out to shoot. This offers some physical protection.
Lithium batteries are much better at dealing with the cold but it can be worth having a spare in your pocket.

As John says, if you don't take the camera you won't get the picture!
Bob

Stuey

Link Posted 12/10/2015 - 22:49
Hello and welcome

My k5 and k10 have worked in temperatures between -5 and -10 or so - I say or so as it was -8 at car park level but we climbed a fair bit from there