help. new K5 owner underexposure problem

drewrett

Link Posted 28/06/2012 - 13:02
I love my new K5 but when I view the histogram in iphoto every shot seems underexposed. I have used different settings ie multi and spot metering and ensured the ev compenastion is zero. Help what am I doing wrong??

wvbarnes

Link Posted 28/06/2012 - 13:52
Hi Rett and welcome.

Interestingly you are the second to recently post a thread about exposure. I've just moved from a KR to the excellent K5 and have been impressed with its auto exposure control. I use the 'Bright' mode with defaults for jpegs (one up on sharpness and contrast) I tend to only correct contrast a bit further post capture if an image is a little dark.

The histograms that are most useful are those in your camera when you've just taken a shot. I have no knowledge of 'iphoto' or its abilities.

As to which metering to use then it would depend on what you are photographing and what lens i.e a landscape at wide angle would lend itself to multi with the shadow and highlight correction features on, wildlife with a telephoto would suggest use of centre or even spot metering. Always useful to bracket if LCD review indicates any possible problems.

Not easy to comment without seeing an example and what settings were used. I'm sure the other members will help if you post examples.

Helpful

drewrett

Link Posted 28/06/2012 - 16:35
Hello Bill many thanks for your response. I am using the kit zoom 18 -55mm. P mode , natural filter setting, Tried all scenes, such as landscapes, and close ups, and spot and multi, exposure, always underexposes by about one stop or more. If I could work out how to post an image I would do so. Cheers Drew

InFESTation

Link Posted 28/06/2012 - 18:55
I can't help I'm afraid, but been getting similar results with my K-r especially outdoor shots, anything with alot of green in seems to be slightly underexposed.